Delaware Defensive Driving Requirements
Before you begin any of our programs, you'll want to ensure that you meet the defensive driving requirements in Delaware. Luckily, since the course options are mostly voluntary, it is not difficult to qualify! Since there are three different programs in Delaware, the defensive driving requirements for eligibility are a little different for each:
Basic 6 Hour Course This must be your first time taking a Delaware defensive driving course. You will receive a mandatory 10% auto insurance discount. You will receive a three point driving record credit. You can renew these benefits in three years. 3 Hour Refresher Course You must have taken a Delaware defensive driving course in the past. Your auto insurance discount will increase to 15%. Your three point driving record credit will be renewed. You can continue to renew these benefits every three years. Aggressive Driving Course Completion of this program will satisfy your behavioral modification/attitudinal driving Course requirement. You must complete this course within 90 days of your conviction date. Failure to meet this requirement may result in the suspension of your driving privileges. This course is typically taken on a Delaware DMV or court ordered basis.
Almost every Delaware driver is eligible for at least one of our programs. Simply select the course that you meet the defensive driving requirements for and
Get Started Today! Register Now Frequently Asked Questions Are you approved to offer this program in Delaware?
Yes. We are Approved by the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles to offer our Basic and Refresher programs. For our Aggressive Driving course, we are approved by the Secretary of Transportation. We meet all state, court and DMV requirements to ensure you receive the proper credit.
How do I receive an auto insurance reduction and a 3 point DMV credit?
When you successfully complete our basic or refresher course, you will simply need to present your Completion Certificate to your auto insurance provider. Your insurance agent will then be responsible for applying your mandatory discount to your premium. Additionally, upon completion of either of our programs, we will automatically notify the Delaware DMV and they will take care of granting your three point driving record credit.
How long does the online course take to complete?
Our online courses are designed to be self-paced and provide a comprehensive review of proper defensive driving techniques, DMV laws and licensing procedures, impaired driving issues, and the rules of the road. The Basic Course has 14 chapters for a total of 6 hours of required instruction. The Refresher Course has 10 chapters for a total of 3 hours of required instruction. The Aggressive Driving course has 15 chapters for a total of 8 hours of required instruction. Chapters are timed to ensure that you have enough time to learn all of the information and to meet Delaware state law requirements. Our programs work around your busy schedule, so you can learn when it's convenient for you.
Read More... Stay Connected